Posted on

Ants and Grasshoppers

grasshopper
While the ant works hard all summer preparing, because you know, winter is coming and all that, the grasshopper plays music and has fun…until, you know, winter came.

Oh that mountain of TBR: To Be Read books, the books we put off all year and then try to binge over the short summer weeks. Perhaps if I capture my list on this blog, it’ll somehow self-curate my reading and curriculum planning time.

Maybe? Sure. Sure it will.

Ant Books

These are my professional books on my list:

Jim Burke: The English Teacher’s Companion – I have a marked up copy, and realized it’s time to implement some of those highlighted gems.

Jennifer Fletcher: Teaching Arguments

I’ve been thumbing through this, and its heavy emphasis on traditional rhetoric seem counter-intuitively refreshing.

Jim Burke and Barry Gilmore: Academic Moves for College and Career Readiness, Grades 6-12: 15 Must-Have Skills Every Student Needs to Achieve

This tome is the latest shared reading from my district. Since I trust Jim Burke I’m looking forward to it. I tried to get my team to read Burke’s The Common Core Companion, (which I have) but alas, it didn’t make it to our PLC agendas. Onward!

Grasshopper Books

The only ‘must reads’ for the summer are Oblomov by Ivan Goncharov because my older son told me to, and All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr because my book club told me to.

Young Adult books to read and refresh my classroom library: (links to lists)

http://www.refinery29.com/2015/06/88523/young-adult-books#slide

http://www.wsj.com/articles/a-counter-cultural-high-school-summer-reading-list-1432938632

And Book Riot is pretty fun, too.

What’s on your reading list this summer, your ant book, and your grasshopper book?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

3 thoughts on “Ants and Grasshoppers

  1. I thought it’s a kids story… but its ok 🙂
    http://itsmejarish.blogspot.com/

  2. I will share the Academic Moves on – better yet, see if you can get your own copy from the district. I bought it, too, as I want it on my Kindle. I also have several books on content area writing, so we can look through those, too.

  3. I don’t know what my ant books are yet, because I await instruction in my two trainings this summer, neuroscience at the UW and writing with Holly Stein. My grasshopper books are to continue to read the Anna Pigeon series by Nevada Barr in time to send the whole set to a friend for Christmas. If I have ever given anyone a book, I probably read it before I wrapped it.

Comments are closed.