Posted on

Spontaneous combustion.

I do not know where this came from. A student was talking to me today about the recent mythology narrative fiction assignment, which lead to a discussion about other deities and the suppositions we humans make about their godly decisions and actions.

Basically, the student said something to the effect, “Mrs. L, why do you want to keep living? You have everything you want.”

I guess from a 14-year-old’s perspective, I do. I have a wonderful, handsome, loving husband, two great kids, and a job I love. I wake up everyday thinking how lucky I am to get paid to read and write, and work with some fresh, original minds, mine for the molding!

So what else do I need to do with the rest of my life?

Good question, kiddo. I’ll get back to you.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One thought on “Spontaneous combustion.

  1. I love this question. It seems, on some level, that if someone is truly content, then there is no reason to keep trying and striving.

Comments are closed.