Posted on

Swap room.

 

Swap Room Robot

Over the course of the year, we have been working on Levels of Questions and Annotating Text (the capitalization is to show importance). We’re stepping it up and incorporating more of the technology we have at our disposal. Should have been doing more of this all along, but…(dunnnn…dunnn..dun..) there was a threat.

Even though we’re a high-tech savvy, millenial-baby school, students have figured out how to get out of class with two words: Swap Room.

Yes, Swap Room has become the new “may I go to the bathroom/get a drink of water” hall-walker, excuse to meander cry of the bored and disengaged student. No teacher in our building has dealt with the number of intense technical issues this year’s crop of students have found. Everything from virus to battery death, students have taken the technology issues to the next level. I can trouble-shoot a myriad of computer issues, but these are beyond the pale, even the pale skin of the IT dude waiting in the Swap Room.

Many of you “frequent flyers” have become shocked and dismayed, when requesting to go the Swap Room, when I say, “no.” I deftly hand you the assignment from my back-up paper & pencil stash, and you are sent bewildered back to your seat.

How about this?

Charge your battery. Don’t download junk (you were told not to). And focus on your work. Be resourceful: if you do have a tech meltdown, what’s YOUR backup plan?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “Swap room.

  1. We are a 1:1 ratio; its promise and potential is awesome. However, there are a few kinks. I had a student get a lunch detention for not charging his laptop when it was clearly broken. To draw the analogy between giving a 13 year old a laptop and Pandora’s box is a gimme. I love technology, and I love paper/pencil; I have issues with the term”digital native.” Um, excuse me- I think those of us who were there in 1984 and pioneered faxes, e-mails, etc., are the “digital pioneers.” Sometimes, though, I wish I could give Steve Jobs and Bill Gates a piece of my educational mind.

    And, our nation must have free Internet access. It’s ridiculous to give a child access to the world but have it denied because their parents can’t afford to pay for service.

  2. Wow, I would have never guessed a school would have or need a swap room. Do you have a 1:1 student to computer ratio?

    By the way “even the pale skin” comment – brilliant!

Comments are closed.